Paul Harris Fellow Recognition

Paul Harris Fellow Recognition is both an award for exemplary work in community service or helping those in need, or a method of recognising a substantial donation to The Rotary Foundation. The Paul Harris Fellow recognition acknowledges individuals who contribute, or who have contributions made in their name, of US$1,000 to The Rotary Foundation of Rotary International. Each new Paul Harris Fellow receives a commemorative certificate and a lapel pin.

The Paul Harris Fellow pin is worn with pride to show that the wearer has contributed either substantial effort or funds to The Rotary Foundation - an organisation that strives to bring peace to our world through the programs it implements. In recent years, close to US$60m a year has been spent on humanitarian programs, US$17m on educational programs, and in excess of US$100m annually to achieve The Rotary Foundation's goal of completely eradicating polio world-wide.

Rotarians have a tradition of supporting the Foundation by honoring others, usually club members, although at the International Assembly in 1979, then-RI President-elect James Bomar challenged each Rotary club to make one non-Rotarian a Paul Harris Fellow. Many notable figures have been named as Paul Harris Fellows, including Mother Teresa, U.S. President Jimmy Carter, Russian President Boris Yeltsin, U.S. astronaut James Lovell, UN Secretary-General Javier Perez de Cuellar, and Jonas Salk. 

Our club supports the Rotary Foundation by honoring those who have given exceptional service - gone that extra mile. 

Paul Harris Fellow recognitions have been awarded to over 40,000 people in Australia, and more than 1.3m worldwide.

Paul Harris Recognition Awards presented by our club
1975 Donald Cormack PDG
1978 Raymond Au
1980 Alfred Barber
1985 Edward Wickham
1986 John MacKenzie
1986 Ivan Skellet PDG Sapphire
1987 Rodney Higgs
1988 Brian Jessep
1988 Frank Fisher (Bequest Level 2)
1988 Graham Barrett
1989 Richard Cross
1989 Alan Rowe
1989 Patricia Skellet
1989 Peter Caves
1989 Basil Loupis
1989 Anthony McClelland
1991 Brian Cato-Symonds
1991 Alan Vicars
1992 Robert Ivey
1992 Beryl Pearce (Art show convenor)
1993 John Hooton
1993 Ken Simper
1994 Ian Turner
1994 June Higgs
1995 John Ellis
1995 John Hessel
1995 Peter Hledik
1995 Ken Murphy
1995 Peter Pritchard
1996 John White
1996 George Lloyd (posthumously)
1997 Margaret Cato-Symonds
1997 David Forsythe
1998 Catherine Ellis
1998 Lachlan Skellet (posthumously)
1998 Judy Macourt
1998 Peter Kipps
1998 Neil Garling
1999 Robert Ivey (Sapphire, 2nd award)
2000 Geoffrey Painter
2000 Patricia Fisher
2000 Frank White
2001 Joyce Cribb
2002 Ivan Cribb
2004 John Aitken
2004 David Forsythe (Sapphire, 2nd award)
2004 Lindy Macgregor (CEO Lifeline)
2005 Wally Forbes
2005 Ted Price
2005 Adele Mitchell (Sapphire, 2nd award)
2005 Ross Egan
2006 Ian St Clair
2006 Michael Tyler
2006 Robert Ivey (2nd Sapphire, 3rd award)
2007 Tim Phillips
2007 Arthur Stautner
2007 Dilys Geddes
2007 Sally Shepherd (Fundraising Mgr Lifeline)
2009 Norris Dunn (founding member)
2009 Tom Jackson
2011 Tony McClelland (Sapphire, 2nd award)
2011 Malcolm Braid
2011 Greg Newling
2012 Bob Ivey (3rd Sapphire, 4th award)
2013 Geoff Hungerford
2013 Peter Kipps (Sapphire, 2nd award)
2013 Joy Newling
2014 Joy Newling (Sapphire, 2nd award)
2014 Peter Kipps (2nd Sapphire, 3rd award)
2014 Graham Timms
2015 Michael Midlam
2015 Michael Tyler
2015 Bob Elsworth
2015 Tony McClelland
2016 Linda Lam-Rohlfs
2016 Graham Maslen
2017 Bob Ivey (4th Sapphire, 5th award)
2017 Lindsay Forrest
2017 Malcolm Braid (Sapphire, 2nd award)
2017 Michael Tyler (2nd Sapphire, 3rd award)
2019 Lindsay Forrest (Sapphire, 2nd award)
2019 Diane Robertson (Princ. Clarke Rd School)
2019 Rob Hall
2020 Anil Fulwaria
2021 Roger Desmarchelier
2021 Gary Keating
2021 Peter Kipps (3rd Sapphire, 4th award)
2021 John Aitken (Sapphire, 2nd award)
2021 Malcolm Braid (2nd Sapphire, 3rd award)
2022 Malcolm Braid (3rd Sapphire, 4th award)


  • Hits: 60